Mary Kay moisturizer, ELF brushes and primer, Philosophy cleanser and knowing you’re beautiful.

I have a confession. It’s shocking, appalling and unheard of! I’m a 28 (almost 29) year old and I have never owned a good facial moisturizer. I’ve recently become quite obsessed with the world of beauty and makeup. It is so vast and beyond any type of expectations I had when I started. It dawned on me that I’ve been using hand cream and sometimes even foot cream as my primary facial moisturizer. That’s not okay. After some research I discovered I have combination to oil skin. My cheeks are normally dry and flaky and my t-zone is normally oily. Last night I scoured Amazon and other beauty blogs for the best product. 

Mary Kay Timewise Anti-Aging Moisturizer for Combination/Oily skin

Mary Kay Timewise Anti-Aging Moisturizer for Combination/Oily skin

This is the moisturizer I ended up purchasing. The reviews on it were fantastic and after a pretty lengthy discussion on Facebook regarding what the hell to get, I went with Mary Kay. Did I stop there? Of course not!

Philosophy Purity Facial Cleanser

Philosophy Purity Facial Cleanser

I needed a good cleanser. I’ve been using Clean & Clear for a long time or whatever I could find on sale. This baby had over 450 reviews with a 4.5 star rating. I also did some separate research and this seems to be one of the best.

E.L.F Mineral Eye Shadow Primer

E.L.F Mineral Eye Shadow Primer

So, do you know what happens to eye shadow primer that hasn’t been used in a long time? It gets sticky. And dry. I bought an eye shadow primer from Urban Decay about.. oh, six to seven years ago. Yeah, I needed a new one. I heard that the regular E.l.f primer isn’t very good so I went with the mineral primer. Here’s hoping the product is as good as the reviews!

11pc E.l.f Studio Brushes

11pc E.l.f Studio Brushes

My makeup brushes that I had were just as old as the primer. Actually, they were older. I heard these studio brushes are great for the price. I actually found this same set on Amazon for almost $30. On Target’s website they were $13.59! Score! I can’t wait to get rid of my old brushes and use my nice new ones!

Almay makeup remover, makeup brush holder and Xtreme - Lemon Zest

Almay makeup remover, makeup brush holder and Xtreme – Lemon Zest

At Walgreens today I picked up a few things. I needed makeup remover really badly. There was a deal for the two Almay ones. Use $5/2 Almay cosmetic coupon and combine with $2/1 Walgreens Almay coupon. They also had the products at a buy 1 get 1 at 50% off. After the sale and coupons I paid nothing. The nail polish was on a clearance cart for $0.88. I’ve been looking for a fun yellow! The makeup brush holder was actually going to be used for Q-Tips. When we got home and I saw they would be perfect for my new makeup brushes. My boyfriend, who is wonderful and supportive, said I could use it for my brushes. Yay!

So, there you have it. I’m sure I’ll post reviews on my new products. I am so looking forward to the facial cleanser and moisturizer though.

Can I just tell you about the love of my life for a moment? He’s been asking me why I’ve been wearing makeup. For most women, it’s just fun. I think I’m beautiful with our without makeup but it can definitely be a confidence booster especially when you have a nice blooming zit. He reassured me this afternoon that I don’t need makeup. When I was finished applying my makeup he told me I did my makeup very tastefully and that it looks nice. He gets the best boyfriend award today. Telling me I don’t need it but I do it well when I wear it.

Morpheus thinks you're beautiful with or without it.

Morpheus thinks you’re beautiful with or without it.

In other news:

I made a killer hummus this afternoon. Lunch was a bulgur wheat chicken salad with peppers, onion, spices and tomato paste. My MRI came out clear and I have two huge baskets of laundry to get done today.

I hope you all have a wonderful and beautiful weekend. In case you don’t know, makeup and beautifying products should be fun and experimental. It is not something you need to make yourself seem attractive to the outside world. You’re already beautiful. =)

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Facial Cleansers, Facial Moisturizers, Hauls, Makeup, Skin Care

Leave a Reply

