NYX Cosmetics, Coastal Scents and why I love makeup.

Buy all the makeup!

Buy all the makeup!

Well, I did it again. I purchased a few more items to add to my tiny collection of make up. It’s understandable that I would need to purchase this many items in such a short amount of time, right? To be fair, most of the items I owned were from about seven years ago. Did you know that Urban Decay primer will eventually dry up and become a sticky paste? Who needs Elmer’s glue! Not this chick! Read on to check out what goodies I’m expecting =) 

I woke up with the intentions of not spending any money. The lure of so many fantastic beauty products is just too strong for this weak mind.

I’ve been texting my friend Shannon nonstop about this world. She knows a hell of a lot more than I do and her makeup always looks natural and cute. Check out her blog. She recently walked away with a pretty nice haul from Ulta. So, Shannon and I are texting this morning. Innocence at it’s best. Then I mention I really want a nude palette. She mentions Urban Decay Naked 3. I mention I’ve been looking at it. She mentions Lorac Pro. I remember seeing that as well. Then she mentions Coastal Scents. And we’re off!

I’ve never heard of Coastal Scents so I was automatically intrigued. She says if I’m looking for a nice palette but not one with a price tag then that was the way to go. I said okay! and hopped on their website. Well, don’t you know they had their 88 Original Palette on sale for $9.95, their Warm Palette on sale for $11.95 and a 10 piece blush palette for $10.95. Yes, I bought all three and even threw in the Revealed Palette (there’s my nude/natural look) for $19.95. My total came to $49.80 after sales, free shipping and $3.00 deduction for rewards points. Before I made my purchase I went and scoured the web for tutorials and reviews on the product. As a newbie, I think this is going to be perfect. It’s not hard on the wallet and I’ll have variety to start playing with as many colors as I want. I. Am. Thrilled.

Coastal Scents Warm Palette

Coastal Scents Warm Palette

I just know that I’m going to love, love, love this palette! There’s so much variety starting at a simple nude look to a sultry smoky eye (once I figure out how to actually do a smoky eye). 

Coastal Scents 88 Original

Coastal Scents 88 Original

This one seemed like a must have in my book. I think I own maybe ten separate eye shadow colors. I used to think that was a lot but really, what can you do with just three colors? When you broaden your spectrum of colors you become canvas waiting for creativity. I cannot wait. 

Coastal Scents Revealed

Coastal Scents Revealed

This was really my whole reason in wanting to purchase something today. I had tossed around the idea of Urban Decay Naked but I just didn’t want to spend that amount of money. This was half of what Urban Decay costs and according to numerous reviews it’s just as good. Maybe a little less as far as pigmentation but, that’s why I purchased an eye shadow base which I’ll talk about soon. 😉 

Coastal Scents 10 Piece Blush Set

Coastal Scents 10 Piece Blush Set

Ready for this one? I own one blush. I’ve only ever owned one blush. In fact, I’ve had the same mineral blush for about oh, seven to eight years. I am extremely excited about this palette. It got great reviews, it was on sale and shit, I’m just excited. 

So, that was my haul at Coastal Scents. I also swung on over to NYX Cosmetics. This brand was referred by once again, Shannon at NoShannonigans. Seriously, check out her blog. I had a 25% off coupon for the website and have been yearning for a few new lip glosses and some other odds and ends. I ended up with 3 Butter Glosses, The Curve liner and a Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk (white).

Nyx Cosmetics Butter Glosses

Nyx Cosmetics Butter Glosses

Lip gloss! Again, my lack of beauty products will be revealed to you all because I have just one lip gloss. I purchased three of these babies. I bought Creme Brulee, Maple Blondie and Angel Food Cake. These colors are on the warm sides of pink and peach which would go great with my complexion. 

Nyx The Curve

Nyx The Curve

Oh, boy. This product may be the best thing ever or the worse thing ever. I checked out reviews pretty heavily. The newbies (me!) state that this was easy to use and made the cat eye look easy and fool proof. The beauty gurus who’ve been around for years say it’s difficult to hold. The gurus already know how to hold a regular liquid liner and come out with nothing less than perfection. Me? Not so much. I am hoping and praying that this will perfect my look. I so want to nail the cat eye every single time!

NYX Eye Shadow Base in Milk (white)

NYX Eye Shadow Base in Milk (white)

This was suggested by, again, Shannon. I had mentioned that a few of my eye shadows require some serious application to show up on my lids. Go for the white base that NYX sells, she said! So I went. I bought! 

I was very impressed with how inexpensive my purchases were. In total, everything came to $75.67. For the amount of product I got, I am super stoked. I think I made smart beginner choices and I can’t wait to start playing!

Here is an interesting topic of conversation that’s inspired by a conversation my boyfriend and I had earlier. Why do you wear makeup? Is it to make yourself feel confident? Pretty? Do you just like the pretty colors?

It’s a lot of different things for me. I’ve never had a real and true hobby. I never had something to collect. Something to covet. I feel like this is something that can be that thing. I’m a colorful person. I love colors. I love scents. I love a challenge. If liquid eyeliner isn’t a challenge, then I don’t know what is. You should have seen my eyes rubbed raw before from constant application and removal. If there are any newbies out there reading this, I feel for you. Trust me. A lot of people say makeup is a way of attracting the opposite sex. Sure, it can be. I’m finding that this is a way to communicate and bond with friends. I have one good friend who loves nail polish. When I pick up a new polish I make sure to send her my review and pictures. Shannon has hoards of make up. We’re now comparing products, prices, colors, swatches, etc. It’s a blast! It’s art. It’s playing up the golden specs in my eyes. It’s choosing colors on my lips that compliment my complexion. I’d be a liar if I said it wasn’t about hiding those under eye circles and pimply bits as well. 😉 Overall, it’s just fun. And that’s what it should be. It’s not my necessity it’s my a part of my joy.

In any case, I’m done writing for the evening. Look out for a post on Hide and Go Chic by Essie tomorrow! I love me a new polish. 😉

Stay fearless and protect your joy, friends.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hauls, Makeup

Leave a Reply

