Gel manicures, Lane Bryant, M.A.C Viva Glam 1 lipstick and loving myself.

Guys. Red lipstick. Omg. Why have I been so frightened to embark on this wonderful and glorious shade?

I got my Mac Viva Glam 1 lipstick in the mail and I am absolutely head over heals in love with it. It’s perfect for my skin tone. Not too light. Not too dark. It’s a gorgeous and classic brick red with just the right amount of pigmentation. The one and only downside with the product is the dryness. If you don’t like dry lips (who does?) put a light coat of your favorite lip balm underneath. I personally use EOS in melon flavor and it works great. If you’d rather top off your matte lip shade with a lip gloss for a more fierce look, do it up! I, unfortunately, do not have a photo to share but the next time I get dolled up with that beastly color, I’ll be sure to take a few snapshots! 😉 

I also received my striped maxi dress from Lane Bryant. The second I put that thing over my head I fucking fell in love. Seriously. I don’t curse often but fucking needed to be in that sentence.

Striped maxi dress with a coral cardi over it. Both are from Lane Bryant.

Striped maxi dress with a coral cardi over it. Both are from Lane Bryant.

I wish you could get the true color of the cardigan in my photo. It is gorgeous. The dress hugs me in all the right places. I’m always super self conscious of my arms and stretch marks on my shoulders. You know what? If it’s a hot damn day and I’m sweating balls then I’m taking my cardigan off. Woot! Lane Bryant has a 40% off sale site wide going on right now. It is so incredibly tempting to jump on there. The dress that I would have been interesting in is not in my size so.. that’s actually a good thing. I do keep checking to see if they have added more sizes though. 😉

Red Carpet Manicure - 9 Inch Heels

Red Carpet Manicure – 9 Inch Heels

Gel manicure! Yay! This was one of the Target clearance polishes I had gotten for like.. $2.98. When they’re originally $9.99 I just had to grab as many as I could. This is a great color. I almost fucked it up by not shaking the polish. I was like “Hrm.. why is it all watery? What’s going on?” Duh. I also messed up one nail by creating some massive air bubbles. I had a do-over on that one. Then it came out alllll pretty! I love this kit. I kept telling my boyfriend. It lasts for weeks. I probably could have went longer without doing them (it’s been a week since my last manicure) but I wanted to try a new color. Amazing! I can’t wait to try more!

Makeup to go with my new outfit.

Makeup to go with my new outfit.

The makeup I did to go with the dress was kept very light. I used my It Cosmetics CC cream and Bye Bye Under Eye concealer. I used the brightening side to light up under my eyes, nose and mouth. On the lips I used NYX soft matte lip cream in Antwerp. It matched beautifully with the outfit. I was extremely pleased. This is going to make a great fun and carefree look for the summer. I told my boyfriend I’d be wearing it tomorrow to celebrate his mothers birthday. Who am I kidding? It’s like forty degrees right now. Wishful thinking, right?

The type of love every person needs to have in their lives.

The type of love every person needs to have in their lives.

I’ve been doing a lot of research on the No Body Shame Campaign. I am in love with loving myself. I had a conversation with Drew this morning about where my mind is with everything. I just don’t want to be that person that feels ashamed about how they look anymore. It’s ridiculous. I do not need a number on a scale to give me feels. My previous post was much more in depth with this topic. I had 13 shares on Facebook which was pretty cool. I’m pretty sure two of them were my mom though. Anyway, if you shared it, I thank you. I think this is an extremely important topic that isn’t addressed often enough.

Anywhodilly. Dinner tonight will be leftover steak, broccoli and mashed sweet potato and carrots. Dessert? Not sure! Maybe some banana ice cream. We still have some fresh pineapple in the fridge I can munch on tonight. Drew will be out of the house so I’ve got the condo to myself. Not like this is a rare occurrence. I’m unemployed so I’m always home. Boo. Got a few episodes of Glee and Drop Dead Diva to watch tonight. Got a mud mask that I’d like to try out. The final chapter in Harry Potters life awaits me. Good things, good things. Then tomorrow is a pretty bland day until we go to dinner with Drew’s folks for his mothers birthday. We’re taking them out to dinner and I am thrilled about it. In five years I’ve never gone out for a meal with the two of them! Crazy! Then Sunday is pretty lame until Drew comes home and a few of his buddies show up for Wrestlemania. I’m not a wrestling fan but I’ll hang out with the guys, have a beer and relax. All while having the most polished and amazing manicure.

Love yourselves in the present. You don’t know what’s going to happen in the future. What you have is right now.

Until next time!

4 Comments

Filed under Nail Polish, red carpet manicure

4 responses to “Gel manicures, Lane Bryant, M.A.C Viva Glam 1 lipstick and loving myself.

  1. I’m in love with the print of that dress! It looks so good on you! Normally those stripes on dresses make the person look ten sizes bigger but this print is so flattering!

    • Thank you so much! I am simply stoked about it. I very rarely wear dresses and am trying to change up my look a bit. Saw this on a fellow Instagrammer and just had to have it. Ordered it online and it was perfection!

      • Ya I don’t normally wear dresses either since I don’t love my legs or arms but I’m trying to get over that. I would love to rock some maxi dresses or sundresses this year!

  2. I love that pretty nail color!

Leave a Reply

