Marshalls Haul!

Can you really call it a haul when you’ve only purchased two items?

I stopped in at Marshalls the other day for a new Christmas sweater. No, I didn’t get an “Ugly Christmas Sweater.” I haven’t jumped on that trendy train just yet. Maybe next year. I just wanted a couple of nice cozy sweaters to wear during the holidays and thereafter. 

I was in Marshalls for almost two hours. Two hours! This is what happens when Nikki is alone and free to roam the store. I could have (and would have) stayed longer, but I had to get ready for a Christmas party so… there’s that.

Here are the two sweaters that I got:

2014-12-18 13.50.25

2014-12-18 14.25.17

 

The first one was a steal at only $19.99. I saw it at the store a couple of weeks prior and was happy to see that they still had the one I wanted. It’s super soft but wearing a tank top underneath is a must. It’s a bit see through because of the knitted pattern. Not a big deal, though.

The second one I *almost* passed on. The price tag was $34.99. I know, I know! Almost $40 for a sweater. Seriously? I justified this purchase in that it was the softest thing I’ve ever felt in my life, the length is perfect for a pair of leggings and Ugg boots, and I don’t own something in that rich plum color. It didn’t disappoint. I wore this one out for my boyfriend’s company Christmas party and I loved how I felt in it.

I also purchased a pair of XL leggings that was said to fit up to 245 pounds. Whoever sized out these leggings clearly had a crack addiction. I nearly broke a sweat trying to pull those suckers on. They’ll be going back to the store for sure.

The jeans I’m wearing in this picture were nice, but they were super high waisted that it was borderline uncomfortable to wear. I passed on those.

I tried on a few other items that didn’t end up in my cart.

2014-12-18 13.53.11

2014-12-18 14.26.46

Does that red sweater look familiar? It should. It’s the same style as the cream one and it broke my heart to put it back. The one shown here is two sizes too big than what I felt comfortable in. It just hung on me like a sack. I was able to pinch the back a bit to take the photo but had I left it, you’d see what I’m talking about.

The coat in the second picture is actually by Michael Kors. Michael Kors plus sized clothing on discount!? Score! Had I had the cash and it was in a smaller size, I would have gotten this. The gold zipper zips all the way up to your chin where there’s a snap enclosure. I thought it would be a nice touch if there was a hood but there wasn’t.

They actually had a ton of Michael Kors things. Coats, jeans, beanies, scarves, bags. No wonder I was in there for almost two hours!

2014-12-19 07.36.00

This is what I wore yesterday for work. I know the lighting is crappy (it was 7 in the morning.)

I have another Christmas party tonight and am planning on wearing the plum top with my leggings and Ugg boots. As much as I want to wear my boots with heels, I also just want to be comfortable. So, comfort wins this round!

If you have a local Marshalls, I strongly suggest on checking them out frequently. The inventory changes constantly. If you’re on a budget, like myself, it’s a great place to score some higher quality items at a low cost.

Happy shopping, everyone!

– Nikki

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hauls, Makeup

Leave a Reply

