Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar review from a beginner!

cafepatron

I’m drinking coffee with a shot of this stuff in it. Don’t judge me. It’s the holiday season still and it’s 12:35 pm here in Connecticut! 😉 

I hope you all had an amazing holiday filled with laughter, joy, food, drink, friends and family.

I had a lovely visit with my parents in Long Island, NY. The traffic was horrendous and the weather made it an even worse drive, but Christmas day turned out to be sunny with blue skies and a mild 50 degrees. Perfect!

I wanted to do a quick review on the Too Faced Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar palette. The boyfriend got it for me for Christmas and so far I fucking love it. Yes, I said fucking. It’s not often that I’ll use that word, but I felt it justified in this sentence.

A lot of makeup users had been complaining about the palette; saying it wasn’t as pigmented as the first. (FYI – The boyfriend got that one for me too, so I’m able to do a proper compare and comparison.)

For me, pigmentation isn’t the deal breaker when it comes to high end palettes. Quite honestly, it’s the build up ability. Don’t get me wrong, pigmentation is great and all, but sometimes I really enjoy the control of building up a shadow. Blend-ability ranks in pretty high too, which if I’m being honest, I find that this one lacks a bit, but that could be my lack of proper blending tools. I’ve got my sights set on the Real Techniques brushes on Amazon, so we’ll see what happens with these shadows once I level up on the brush front. (Level up? I’ve been sitting here watching the boyfriend play Destiny for far too long. Sigh.)

2014-12-27 12.17.46

2014-12-27 12.19.51

These colors are gorgeous. Just, gorgeous. Peanut Butter is going to be a go-to transition color for me and trufffled is the perfect shade for your lower lash line when finishing off any type of look. Pink Sugar is deceitful in it’s pan. It looks like it’s going to be a high sparkled pink shadow, but really it’s just a shimmer. You can pop it over any other matte shadow that you’ve used and the result will be a glamorous evening look.

Here is where the lack of pigmentation tickles my fancy. When I initially saw Blueberry Swirl, it scared the shit out of me. I’m still a beginner here. Sometimes I get a bit excited and swipe a bit too much on my brush. Excitement for a beginner is the easiest way to look like a first rate hooker on the busiest corner in NYC. You can build this shade up to the desired blue that you want. I may want the intensity of this color to change, depending on my mood or where I’m going that day.

fixedeye

 

2014-12-27 17.55.26

This is a very simple eye look that I did yesterday. I used ALL matte colors in this look. The reason for the beautiful shimmer is Pink Sugar.

Also, quick shout out to NYX cosmetics for their eyebrow cake powder. My eyebrows have never looked better! I’m using brown/dark brown right now, but will probably switch to black/grey since I recently dyed my hair. These retail for about $5.99 and they ARE available on Amazon for all of you Prime users.

So, to sum up this post. I love this palette. I really do. I think it’s versatile, a creamy texture and easy to work with (if you have the proper tools!) I think this is great for anyone beginning with using high end eye palettes. Building up the color is essential for testing out the waters and figuring out what works for YOU.

It’s easy to get swept up in the reviews, comments and first impressions that are out there in the makeup and beauty world. My main rule? Try the product out for yourself. YOU might be looking for different qualities in a product than what other people are.

If I’m not back here before the New Year, I wish you all a happy and healthy! Stay positive and smile often.

❤ Nikki

Leave a comment

Filed under Makeup, Reviews

Leave a Reply

