Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick in Melted Berry review and swatches.

hellojanuary

Happy January, folks!

I hope you all had a fabulous New Years Eve spent with friends, family, laughter, food, drink and the promises of a fabulous year ahead.

Me? I was asleep before the ball dropped.

Onward! 

My dear friend Shannon over at NoShannonigans and I swapped the Too Faced Melted Long Wear Liquified Lipsticks for Christmas. It was one of those situations where you’re an Ulta with a friend and you don’t know what to get one another. We wandered over to the Too Faced section, started swatching them and alas.. gifts were decided.

Yesterday she came to my humble abode and we swatched, took photos and tested them out. I was in sweats with a full face of makeup on to take some photos for this blog. Then continued to leave the makeup on while waffle eating and watching My 600lb Life. Sometimes, a girls gotta do what she’s gotta do.

2015-01-03 11.31.36

2015-01-03 11.31.53

2015-01-03 11.32.54

Packaging! It was all pretty simple, but very nice. The cap is a twist off and you’ve got yourself a squeeze tube with the product, obviously, inside. Lovely! 

2015-01-03 11.33.422015-01-03 11.34.26

Too Faced Melted Lipsticks come with a precision tip applicator for a clean and care free application. I actually found this to be true. I have a hard time getting my cupids bow to look just right and this did the trick. To get product out, you just squeeze lightly and you’ll start to see color appear. You do not need a lot of this on the tip. A little goes a long way. Trust me. 

2015-01-03 11.34.58

This was taken outside without flash. Melted Berry really is a beautiful shade. It’s definitely got cool and blue undertones. This swatch was taken with one swipe off of the applicator. 

2015-01-03 14.45.30

I think it looks beautiful on. This is an absolutely perfect color for the winter months. I paired it off with a neutral eye, slight contouring and a pink hue compliments of the Rainforest After Dark palette by Tarte. Oh, and a scarf. Because I really love scarves. FYI, I’m wearing sweats in this picture. Shout out to the chunky knitted infinity scarfs around the world for making my selfies look appropriate! 

So, this product swatched beautifully and it looked great on my lips. How did it perform?

Well, I have to admit that I was a disappointed in this product. It was a wonderful application and I found it smooth and almost gloss like when applying but it is VERY drying. I think I may have split my lip when I smiled after about an hour of wear time, honestly. I applied a lip moisturizer over the product after the dryness got to be too much, but that was a bad idea because it caused major bleeding into the lines around my lips. Not a cute look at all.

I was under the impression that this was a holy grail lip product and I would be forced (yes, forced) to purchase all of them. That’s not really the case anymore. Yes, the shades are gorgeous and the pigmentation is astounding, but the product really didn’t do much for me aside from those things mentioned. Quite honestly, I’ve had better results from a $6.00 NYX Cosmetics product.

So, will I wear this again? Yep. Will I buy more? Nope.

What do you think, reader? Have you tried these lipsticks? What is your take on them? I’d love to hear what you’ve got to say about this product! Comment below to start the conversation!

Happy New Year!!!!!

❤ Nikki

3 Comments

Filed under Makeup, Reviews

3 responses to “Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick in Melted Berry review and swatches.

  1. I bought that lip gloss in December at Sephora, and when I applied it on my lips it went all over my teeth. I did not like how it went all over my teeth. Plus, I do agree with you that it made my lips more dry. -Nicole. http://nicoleashley15.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

