Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette review and swatches!

2015-01-25 15.09.23

Good morning, all! Today is a messy bun, hot mug of coffee and leggings type of day.

We’ve got a blizzard here in Connecticut. To all of those in the storms path, I hope you have the day off from work or school and can enjoy the storm from the warmth and comfort of your homes! 

2015-01-25 15.11.04

So, the palette is about 4″ long and 3″ wide. It’s slim, sleek and the perfect size for traveling.

2015-01-25 15.11.38

The palette comes with a full sized mirror and 12 matte shades.

I have hooded eyes so a palette consisting of matte shades is a dream for someone like me. If you’re just starting out and experimenting with different eye looks, I strongly recommend figuring out what shape your eye is. It could make or break the look you’re trying to achieve. For months I experimented with cat eyes and winged liner, only to find that no version of it looked quite as good on me as it did other people. Turns out that tight lining works best for my eye shape. I’ve got my sights set on a Laura Merciers Tightline Cake Powder. That will be a whole other post, though!

2015-01-25 15.10.29

 

 

The shades range from peach, to brown, to pink, to purple to slate and finally, black. In my opinion, they are more on the powdery side than creamy, but that doesn’t make or break this palette. The shadows still blend well and can be built up in intensity of the shade you desire.

2015-01-25 15.07.33

 

From left to right:

free spirit, force of nature, dreamer, multi-tasker, caregiver, natural beauty, best friend, bombshell, super mom, wanderer, power player, and fashionista.

Most of these required one swirl of my finger tip. Some of the lighter shades required a bit more than one swirl, but that’s where the build up of color can come from. The darker shades are like.. Wow! Bombshell and Fashionista were the most pigmented. Truth be told, the darker shades scare me a bit. Anyone else fear every single shade of black in every palette you own?

You can buy the Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette at Sephoras website for $44.00.

I’d give this palette 4/5 stars and a must have in any persons collection.

I think Tarte is actually becoming one of my favorite beauty brands. The packaging is always so gorgeous, but practical. I have my sights set on the Amazonian Clay Foundation. I got a sample of it when I received my palette, and I really enjoyed it.

Anyway, let me know what you think about the Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette! Yay? Nay? Let us know in the comments!

Hope you’re all have a wonderful Tuesday!

❤ Nikki

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Makeup, Reviews

3 responses to “Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette review and swatches!

  1. So glad I’ve found your blog, as a fellow hooded eye girl haha!

    • Haha! It took me a long while to come to terms with my hooded eyes! I wanted the cat eye liner to work so badly! Bah! No worries. I’m bringing tight lining back! 🙂

  2. We all know I love it already 🙂 LOL I think it’s the best matte palette on the market. It is a little powdery but so are most mattes. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

