MAC Haul!!

It’s 9:08 p.m on a Friday night. If I was 24 again I’d still be an hour away from heading out the door for a night of bar hopping with my girlfriends.

I’ll be 31 in three weeks. It’s now 9:11 p.m. I don’t know why it took me three – 9:12 p.m – four minutes to type what I’ve typed so far. I really need to get better at this blogging thing! Friday nights for 30 year old Nikki means a glass *cough* bottle *cough* of Chardonnay, a Modern Family marathon and diving into my latest and greatest haul!

IMAG4046

It’s my anniversary! I’ve had a MAC account for two years now and to celebrate I got an e-mail telling me to redeem my complimentary single eye shadow of my choice (up to $16). How could I not!? On top of that, they’re doing free 2-day shipping. You can still get free 2-day shipping until Sunday 3/6 – Just use code MACEXP at checkout.  

I own two very beloved MAC lipsticks. I own Ruby Woo and Viva Glam 1. I adore their lipsticks, but wearing a red lipstick is just not practical in my life. I sell insulation materials to a network of dealers. I mean, it’s not the most glamorous job, but I do like to spruce myself up a bit. It just makes me feel like I have my life together. I have wanted to get a more wearable shade from MAC for a long time. After extensive research, I finally went with Velvet Teddy and Brave.

IMAG4055

      Matte – Velvet Teddy

Velvet Teddy is a beautiful mauve-y/brown nude shade. I am actually extremely impressed with the formula. Ruby Woo has been such a MAC favorite of mine, but it is SO drying. Like dip-my-lips-in-petroleum-jelly kind of dry. As I said before, I’m sitting here with a full face of makeup on and my lipstick of choice for my evening at home has been Velvet Teddy. It is not drying at all! I’m moving my top lip against my bottom lip and it feels as fresh and moisturized as it did when I first put it on. I didn’t do anything out of the norm when prepping my lips. If I wear a matte lipstick I exfoliate using my E.L.F lip exfoliator and then I use some type of balm or salve. In the lighting I’m working with (a desk lamp and an IKEA dual lamp) the shade looks a bit browner than I think it is. I’m really looking forward to seeing myself in natural daylight with this shade on. I think it’s going to make a perfect everyday shade!

Satin - Brave

              Satin – Brave

Brave is a pinky/mauve nude in a satin finish. I only wore this for a few moments before taking it off to try Velvet Teddy. I’ll have a better review on this one shortly. Off the bat, this felt more matte to me than Velvet Teddy which is actually very strange. I think it’s going to be a great spring/summer shade!

Eye Shadow - Brown Script

                        Eye Shadow – Brown Script

This shade is GORGEOUS. I am so obsessed with it. I had my choice of 20 different eye shadows to get for free and this one immediately jumped out at me. I think I know why now that I’ve done a bit of research on the shade. It’s comparable to Makeup Geeks Cocoa Bear! I think this one has more of a burnt orange/reddish tint to it than Cocoa Bear, but it’s still pretty similar. I’ve seen Jaclyn Hill and many other YouTubers use Cocoa Bear. To go along with my Friday night full face of makeup, I used this shade in my crease along with a few shades from the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette. This shade blends out like a dream. It’s my first MAC shadow that I’ve tried and I’m definitely looking forward to trying more!

IMAG4063

I wanted to round out this post with a few swatches of the products I got. Along with the lipsticks and shadow, I also picked up two of the lip liners. I got Whirl to go along with Velvet Teddy and I got Soar for Brave (left to right). The swatch below is Brown Script.

That’s all I have for you guys today! I am going to enjoy experimenting with everything I got. MAC is not something I often indulge in. I find that drug store dupes work just as well as the high end brands. Every once in a while it’s nice to get something like this, though. Treat yo’self!

Hopefully I’ll be posting again in the next couple of days. I’d like to do a before and after full face shot. I’ve also got a review in the works for Too Faced Born This Way foundation – Spoiler Alert – I hate it!

Everyone – Have a great weekend. Be positive. Enjoy life and HAVE FUN.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hauls, Makeup

Leave a Reply

