NYX Wanderlust Go To Palette review and swatches!

2016-03-12 14.44.36

NYX Wanderlust Go To Palette

Big news. Major news. OMG NEWS!

My local CVS finally revamped their makeup/beauty section. For the longest time it was the same stuff each week. On Thursday I stopped there for milk and – erm – $60 later I was the proud owner of some new-to-me items.  The most updated section is the NYX display. I came very close to walking out with their new retractable brow pencil, but I wanted to hold off until I could determine which shade was best for me. I’ve heard that it’s comparable to the Anastasia Brown Wiz and it’s about $10 less.

When the Wanderlust Go To Palette originally came out, I wanted it. When I saw it in CVS, I still wanted it. So I bought it. Let’s start off with some swatches of this ah-mazing summer palette.

2016-03-12 14.46.17

Wanderlust Go To Palette – $17.99 at CVS

The first six swatches in this photo are of the eye shadows – first three is the top of the palette and next three are the bottom. The highlight, blush and contour shade are the last ones swatched.

I really like this palette so far. I think the shade that’s doing me in is that peach blush. In my opinion, that shade brings this whole palette to fruition.

The pigmentation isn’t bad. Each swatch here was with one swipe, though I have a few other NYX shadows that have much more color payoff. It’s a bit more powdery than I thought they would be, as well.

2016-03-12 14.30.23

2016-03-12 14.30.25

I did find that these shadows worked best alone – meaning – when I tried to layer and create depth, it didn’t work very well. I used that really pretty coppery/brown shade on the top left all over the lid and when I tried to put the dark purple shade in the outer V, it seemed to get lost. I actually used four shadows from this palette to create the above eye look and it looks like I only used one. I like the way it came out, but I was going for a bit more depth with this.

Moment of Truth: If I knew then what I know now about the Wanderlust To Go palette I probably wouldn’t have purchased it. I think $17.99 is a pretty steep price for this palette. I don’t think the price is based on the quality of the product, but the convenience of having six shadows, a contour, a blush, and a highlight all in the same package. 

Have you purchased any of the Go-To palettes? What was your initial review? Comment and let us know!

 

14 Comments

Filed under Makeup, Reviews

14 responses to “NYX Wanderlust Go To Palette review and swatches!

  1. I’ve been eyeing this palette for a while now because the colours are so pretty! But I think I may skip this one, really appreciate an honest review xx

    • Anytime! I find people tend to get so hyped up about products that really just aren’t worth it. Life can’t be all sunshine and rainbows! lol – If you can find this on sale I might consider grabbing it, but it’s not worth an almost $20 palette.

      • Agreed! Especially with NYX, I find everyone raves about all their products that I never know which ones really are the best of the best. Maybe for $10 I’d get it hahah

      • Totally! I just got Too Faced Born This Way foundation which everyone raves about and I actually strongly dislike it. It separates like crazy on my dry skin, though other dry skin ladies say it’s amazing. Shrug! I guess you just never know!

      • oh no! I was so close to buying it the other day when I was at Sephora! I have dry skin and was worried, but like you said everyone says it works amazing on dry skin 😕 I hope you were able to return it! I love the Rimmel Lasting Finish Foundation, it’s so affordable and I have the driest skin out there and I don’t find it clings to any dry patches. xx

  2. Great post wish I lived in America 😫, keep it up babe!

  3. Sarah

    Great post! Love the swatches!

  4. Pingback: Warm Summer Makeup – Before and After | Defined By Nikki

  5. Absolutely gorgeous eye look!! Even though you didn’t particularly like the palette, would you please share which four shades (and process) you used to create the loveliness? Many thanks in advance.

    • Hi Kristen! Thank you so much for the kind compliment! Honestly, I have no idea which shades I had used in this. I’m so sorry! I could guess, but I don’t want to give you inaccurate information!

Leave a Reply

